Forest Bathing

Although I have always enjoyed being in the forest, I had never heard the expression, forest bathing, until a few weeks ago. It intrigued me, because although I live in a forest, I had previously never thought of myself as bathing in it.

To clarify, forest bathing, has nothing to do with water. In 1982, the Japanese Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, and Fisheries created the term shinrin-yoku, which translates to “forest bathing” or “absorbing the forest atmosphere.” The practice encourages people to simply spend time in nature — no actual bathing required. It also does not require physical exertion, which means you do not have to go for intense trail runs or challenging hikes. The goal of forest bathing is to live in the present moment while immersing your senses in the sights and sounds of a natural setting.

Of course, since I live in the forest, I definitely recognize the benefits of doing so, but before I explore my own personal benefits, it is worth noting that this concept has actually been studied and verified.

One study by the International Journal of Environmental Health Research found that spending time in an urban park can have a positive impact on a person’s sense of well-being. Aside from city parks, the more in-depth practice of forest bathing has been found to lower blood pressure, heart rate, and levels of harmful hormones — like cortisol, which your body produces when it is stressed. This can help put you in a calmer and more relaxed state.

In addition, studies have found that simply spending 10 to 20 minutes a day or 120 minutes per week outdoors can lead to increased well-being and happiness — and decreased amounts of stress.

No matter how much time you spend outdoors, it is important to look for moments that make you feel amazement — or awe. One study found that taking awe walks led to increased feelings of well-being and social connection in older adults.

My wife, Sheryl, and I bought our land in rural Adams County 32 years ago, which is now half of our entire lives. Of the 86 acres we own, approximately 60 acres is forested. The native forest is dominated by white and red oak, some of which are probably 150 years old, with scatterings of other trees including cherry, birch, beech and tamarack. A previous owner planted white pine trees as a border to our farm field, probably about 60 years ago, so many of those pine trees are huge and they have also scattered secondary growth in various parts of our forest.

About 22 years ago, we planted 2500 pine and spruce saplings in a scrubby farm field, and those trees have matured into a beautiful forest as well.

Together, our forest explains why every single time we come here, we feel better. That was true from the very first time we came here to meet the previous owner and consider buying the land from him and remains true 32 years later. It has been even more evident since we decided to live here full time 3 years ago because even while working, we look out our windows into the forest that surrounds us and we take walks through the woods at least once a day for at least 15 minutes, even when the weather is bad.

Recently, my mother died and Sheryl and I went to Detroit for her funeral and to sit shiva (the Jewish mourning practice of gathering for a week to mourn a recently buried loved one). It was a difficult and stressful time in many ways, not the least of which was that we were unable to engage in forest bathing for the 9 days that we were there. Sheryl, quite appropriately, wanted to go to St. Louis from Detroit for her mother’s 92nd birthday, and she did so. As much as I love my mother-in-law, Gloria, I chose to return home because, as I said to my friends and family, “I needed to be in the forest.”

Sure enough, when I returned to our forest, as always, I immediately felt better. Perhaps some recent photos of our forest will illustrate why. As you can see, our dog Lexi, also enjoys forest bathing.

We know that we are fortunate to own such a beautiful piece of property, which is why we love to share it with friends and family. Invariably, when we have visitors, we take a walk through the forest. While I only recently discovered the term forest bathing, I know that I have reaped the benefits of it on our land for half of my life.

I understand that most people are not as fortunate as we are to own many acres of beautiful forest. While we gladly enjoy visitors, that probably is not practical for all of my readers. So, find a nearby forest and go bathing in it as often as you can. Your mind and body will both appreciate it immensely!

_____________________________________________________________________________

For more information on how I can help you accomplish effective, progressive systems change, contact me, Jeff Spitzer-Resnick, through my website: Systems Change Consulting.

1 thought on “Forest Bathing

  1. Celeste L. Robins January 15, 2024 — 10:41 am

    Thank you so much, Jeff, for this very beautiful and wise sharing. I could imagine the joy of being in your forest. Even just imagining it was calming and brings a smile to my heart and mind.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close